Blue Carpet Band

 The Blue Carpet Band album release “Rock And Roll Carpet – Relaid”

on 30th March 2018.

For all those muttering under their breath “music aint as good as it used to be”, have a listen to The Blue Carpet Band where influence is oozing from every fuzzy guitar string. A psychotic source of Rock ‘N’ Roll garage punk is instilled in the tunes created by this North London band, their own manic persona enhanced by the sounds of Gene Vincent to the MC5 making a melodic cocktail of original, vintage racket.

Play: The Blue Carpet Band – Rock’ N’ Roll Carpet 

BCBfront-1400x1400

Kicking off the album is “Rock ‘N’ Roll Carpet” a slice of what this bands all about, six-string echoes through the drumbeat before we are headlong into the adrenaline-fueled vocals of Djamel Abina. The song steamrollers your ear canal with the same straining vocals reminiscent of  Rob Tyner at best, the band are relentless in there journey to the end of the song while Djamel attacks the mic with intent. A less frantic pace is had to deliver “Mental Case” which is more of a meandering noise, depicting a disturbed mind with a guitar solo comes over the speakers in waves. A bit of diversity now rings out from “I Don’t Wanna Go Home” having the same sense of urgency with a more rock-like melody,  starting out with less fuzz on that guitar in front of a consistent bass beat and a slower vocal delivery. With one foot in the 60s “Pretty Things” is probably the most melodic track on the album and shows that the band has more than an arm up their sleeve in the way of creativity, with a chorus to sing along to and possibly get you off your arse to dance to. Despite the next track being called “Hangover Cure”, its album would do a fragile head no favours in that department. The persistent ringing guitar sounds through the track as it explains the pains of the morning after, with no sympathy for the ears it comes to an abrupt halt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Blue Carpet Band are slowly rolling out a reputation as a live band, with this album only enhancing this. In singer Djamel they have someone with a set of talented vocal chords, with a sound I could only reach if my legs were on fire during a song. The album does take influence from a few generations dragging them kicking and screaming into the present day, but you come away wondering what would this band be like live. Well check out the dates below:

10492525_389643671221315_3661024682000383366_n

 

The Blue Carpet Band are:

Djamel Abina – Lead Vocals.
Terry Poullos – Guitars/Vocals.
Hiras Maestroni – Guitars.
Natalino Moniz – Bass.
Luke Hackett – Drums

BCBfront-1400x1400

Buy it Here

Track listing:
1 – Rock’n’Roll Carpet
2 – No Cadillac
3 – Mental case
4 – My Jacket’s Better Than your Jacket
5 – Jumble Dance
6 – I Don’t Wanna Go Home
7 – Another Night In Hell
8 – Pretty Things
9 – I Love The City
10- Genghis Khan
11- Hangover Cure

 

21414794_733697260149286_3089991825893119232_o

Tour:
Fri 30th March , Sheffield TBC
Sat 31st March, Duffy’s Bar, Leicester
Sun 1st April , The Lady Luck bar, Canterbury
Mon 2nd April, The Monarch, Camden, London.
Fri 13th April, Garageland , Lock Tavern, Camden, London.
Sat 14th April, New Cross Inn, London (with the Peacocks).
Sat 21st April, Cloggerstock, Alfreton, Derbs.
With Mamapalooza
Sat 28th April, B2, Norwich.
Sun 29th April, The Railway Hotel, Southend
Sat 5th May, Bar Metro, Bolton
Sun 6th May, The Doghouse, Nottingham, Notts.
Sat 12th May, Carr Vale FC, Bolsover, Derbs
Sun 13th May, The Lady Luck Bar, Canterbury, Kent.
Sat 19th May, Voodoo Lounge, Stamford, Lincs
Sun 20th May, Stalybridge Tavern, Stalybridge, Gtr Manchester
(End of Mamapalooza)
Sat 26th May, Bash the Bishop Festival, Worthing, West Sussex
Sat 2nd June, Kingston Calling, London
Sat 16th June, G-Spot Festival, Vic Bikers Pub, Coalville, Leics
Sat 23rd June, No More Heroes IV , High Wycombe, Bucks
Sat 30th June , The Elephant & Castle, Ramsgate, Kent
Fri 20th/Sat.21st July, Deerstock & Mayhem at Mick’s, Fleckney, Leics
Sat 28th July , The Thomas House, Dublin, Ire.
Thurs 2nd to Sun 5th Aug, Rebellion Festival, Blackpool, Lancs,
Fri 31st August, Cloggerfest, Cresswell, Staffs
Sat 1st Sept @ New Cross Inn, London with Eddie & The Hot Rods
Sat 8th Dec, New Cross Inn, London with 999, Duncan Reid & More
More dates tbc.

Website

Facebook

Flicknife Records