Spunge – Get Out (New Single)


UK Ska-punk legends [SPUNGE] are back with their second new single ‘Get Out’, which follows on from October’s release of ‘Liar’, through the bands own label, Dent’All Records. The duo of singles are the bands first new material since 2014’s ‘Hang On?’ album and come ahead of a run of UK tour dates through late November and December.

Having formed in 1994, [SPUNGE] have released 8 studio albums over the years, hitting the album and singles charts several times along the way. Still regularly touring, the band continue to fill venues and festival stages throughout the UK. This summer’s festival season culminated with an at-capacity headline slot on ‘The Skankin’ Stage at Boomtown.

Play: [Sponge] – Get Out

[Sponge] – Get Out

‘Get Out’ was written following a near-fatal car accident which involved both frontman Alex Copeland and bassist Chris ‘Jarv’ Murphy, who were traveling to the airport together, on route to perform at a festival in Guernsey this June. The pair were lucky to come out of the incident alive, which saw their car pushed under and dragged along by a lorry on the M42 motorway.

“‘Get Out’ is a message of positivity” states Copeland. “A lot of the time the only thing standing in the way of you and what you deserve is yourself. Life is short, enjoy it.

“That was cemented as fact to me after Jarv and Iwere in the car crash. I like to think I always had a similar outlook on life… But it wasn’t until it was that close to being over that I really started believing it completely.”

[SPUNGE] take to the road this November/December for a run of shows throughout the UK:

30 Nov 2018 – Cheltenham, Frog And Fiddle SOLD OUT
01 Dec 2018 – Swansea, The Bunkhouse
02 Dec 2018 – Milton Keynes, Craufurd Arms
06 Dec 2018 – London, Islington Academy
07 Dec 2018 – Leeds, Temple Of Boom
08 Dec 2018 – Bolton, The Alma Inn
09 Dec 2018 – Birmingham, Institute

Speaking about the live dates, Copeland continued, “We go back on the road soon, doing what we love to do the most—play shows. We’ve been busy writing new material this year and apart from the odd gigs and festivals, we’ve not really done much live this year. We can’t wait to get back on tour—drinking, playing, trying out some new tunes and having a laugh, in that order.”

‘Get Out’ will be available through all usual digital platforms from Friday 23rd November 2018.

[SPUNGE] are:

Al – Vocals, Des – Guitar, Jarv – Bass & Jen – Drums